--------------------------------------------------------------

Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Book Review: The Mighty Miss Malone by Christopher Paul Curtis

The Mighty Miss Malone by Christopher Paul Curtis
Publisher: Listening Library
Publication date: January 2012
Length: 7 hrs, 56 min
Source: Audiobook from Library
For: Fun

Summary from goodreads:
“We are a family on a journey to a place called wonderful” is the motto of Deza Malone’s family.

Deza is the smartest girl in her class in Gary, Indiana, singled out by teachers for a special path in life. But the Great Depression hit Gary hard, and there are no jobs for black men. When her beloved father leaves to find work, Deza, Mother, and her older brother Jimmie go in search of him, and end up in a Hooverville outside Flint, Michigan. Jimmie’s beautiful voice inspires him to leave the camp to be a performer, while Deza and Mother find a new home, and cling to the hope that they will find Father.

The twists and turns of their story reveal the devastation of the Depression and prove that Deza truly is the Mighty Miss Malone.
Things I Liked:
Oh I love it when a book like this steals into your heart.  I read Bud, Not Buddy a looong time ago and loved it, but didn't even remember Deza Malone from that.  Still, I fell for her, hard.  This book tore me apart, feeling happy, sad, and everything in between.  Deza is a girl with fire in her heart and an irrepressable spirit!  I absolutely adored her "second brain" because I think a lot of us feel that way.  So much made this book just so great, not the least of which were the many historical details that painted her life in color.  It was sobering but hopeful.  Just loved it.  The narrator, Bahni Turpin, did such a fabulous job too; I felt like she was spot on for Deza's voice.

Things I Didn't Like:
I don't even know if I can think of something I didn't like about it.  I'm sure there are flaws, but I didn't see them.

Read-alikes:
Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis
A bit like Turtle in Paradise by Jennifer L. Holm

BOOK CONTENT RATINGS:
s-factor: none

mrg-factor: none

v-factor: none

Overall rating: *****

If you buy through my Amazon linkage, I will get a very small percentage

4 comments :

  1. Thanks for posting about this one! I've read other MG books by Christopher Paul Curtis, but haven't read this one yet~ adding to my TBR list!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's definitely one of the best of his I've read! Hope you like it.

      Delete
  2. Makes me feel like reading something heart warming for a change.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ha ha! You need some happy books for a change, right? :)

      Delete

Love it when you comment!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Copyright © melissa of One Librarian's Book Reviews 2008-2013