--------------------------------------------------------------

Wednesday, January 8, 2014

Book Review: Fragments by Dan Wells

Fragments by Dan Wells
Publisher: Balzer+Bray
Publication date: February 2013
Pages: 576
Source: Library
For: Fun
Series: Partials, Book 2

Summary from goodreads: *Spoilers are inevitable for the first book, Partials*
Kira Walker has found the cure for RM, but the battle for the survival of humans and Partials is just beginning. Kira has left East Meadow in a desperate search for clues to who she is. That the Partials themselves hold the cure for RM in their blood cannot be a coincidence—it must be part of a larger plan, a plan that involves Kira, a plan that could save both races. Her companions are Afa Demoux, an unhinged drifter and former employee of ParaGen, and Samm and Heron, the Partials who betrayed her and saved her life, the only ones who know her secret. But can she trust them?

Meanwhile, back on Long Island, what's left of humanity is gearing up for war with the Partials, and Marcus knows his only hope is to delay them until Kira returns. But Kira's journey will take her deep into the overgrown wasteland of postapocalyptic America, and Kira and Marcus both will discover that their greatest enemy may be one they didn't even know existed.
Things I Liked:
This dystopian sci-fi book is exciting and fairly unique and has plenty of unexpected twists and turns.  I felt like there was a lot going on and I should never get bored.  I loved watching, especially near the end, how much Kira had to reevaluate the things she thought were true.  It was interesting to look at the moral and ethical dilemmas that she and many others in this world have faced.  Choices play a huge role and I thought this was the most fascinating part, despite the acid rain and the talking dogs.  Just a really good story.

Things I Didn't Like:
I have to admit, I got a little tired of the sort-of sameness that went on for much of the book.  It seemed like it dragged on and on while they traveled and traveled and traveled some more.  Maybe my attention span has waned recently, because I just wanted it to be shorter.  Still, I found it fascinating and entertaining and exciting with a lot of things going on all at once.  I'm definitely invested enough to get that next book.

Read-alikes:
Start with Partials by Dan Wells
Peeps by Scott Westerfeld
The Passage by Justin Cronin

BOOK CONTENT RATINGS:
s-factor: !@
not too many, no f-bombs

mrg-factor: none

v-factor: ->->
plenty of fighting, action, and killing - there is a war

Overall rating: ****

If you buy through my Amazon linkage, I will get a very small percentage

2 comments :

  1. It's interesting that you say that about the sadness. I have read that one thing allegedly distinguishing YA dystopias from adult dystopias is the element of optimism in the YA group. But I don't think that holds *all* the time. There are plenty of dark YA dystopias around. I didn't see this as one of the most dark, but I agree with you it is darker than many. And I thought this one did well for a middle book, a phase in which many dystopia writers seem to poop out!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Definitely it was a good middle book, compared to many I've read. And I agree there are plenty of darker dystopian books out there. Thanks for your thoughts!

      Delete

Love it when you comment!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Copyright © melissa of One Librarian's Book Reviews 2008-2013