--------------------------------------------------------------

Tuesday, October 2, 2012

Book Review: Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
Publisher: Hyperion
Publication date: May 2012
Pages: 352
Source: e-book from NetGalley
For: Review

When a British spy is shot down over Germany in the midst of World War II, she is interrogated and tortured. Her written confession reveals the beautiful story of her friendship with a pilot, Maddie. Her tale is skillfully woven into the threads of her guilt and the details of her work as a spy.

Things I Liked:
I'm probably the last person in the YA book blogging world to read this book, but I'm so glad I did.  I completely fell for Queenie and Maddie and their story.  I love how the historical details feel spot on and how beautifully the story is crafted to make you think one way and then throw that out the window later on.  I can't exactly put my finger on what makes this such a great story, because it's more than writing and characters.  I think it's that when I finished, I couldn't stop thinking about it.  I kept wondering about the charaters and putting myself in their shoes and thinking about what happened.  I know lots of people when they finish a good book say they want to immediately start it all over again.  I have almost never felt that way, but I did for this book.  I wanted to read it with new eyes, with the understanding the ending gave me.  This is a book with staying power and I really hope it gets some Printz recognition.  Wish I could say important Things about it, but I don't think I have that ability.

Things I Didn't Like:
It felt slow at first.  The first part, I wondered why everyone thought the story was so fabulous.  It was interesting and Queenie had such personality that I was invested, but it didn't feel that amazing.  It's all the parts put together that make this book what it is.  Just read it already, if you haven't.

Read-alikes:
For Freedom: The Story of a French Spy by Kimberly Brubacker Bradley
Flygirl by Sherri L. Smith

BOOK CONTENT RATINGS:
s-factor: !@
scattered here and there, one f-bomb

mrg-factor: none

v-factor: ->->
there is a war and there is torture

Overall rating: ***** 

Have you read this?  What did you think?  If not, why not?

If you buy through my Amazon linkage, I will get a very small percentage

12 comments :

  1. I felt the same way about you about the slowness in the beginning and the good things, but I wouldn't go so far as to say Prinz because of that beginning problem! :--)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I still think it has a good shot as an honor book. But, I'm terrible at Printz predictions :)

      Delete
  2. The beginning definitely is a little slow and confusing, but the rest of the book more than makes up for it. Also, I can see what you mean about wanting to re-read this one -- and I NEVER re-read!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm with you on not rereading, but this one is really still calling to me. Great stuff.

      Delete
  3. Yep...totally agree. Still haunting me many months after finishing it. Totally worth a re-read. Shivers.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Just reading everyone's comments is making me want to read it again. I love a book that's this good!

      Delete
  4. I haven't read this yet, but it's my book club's pick for the month. I'm so excited to read it! And thanks for the warning about the slow start. I have a hard time with that in books usually, but now I'll know to keep going. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Definitely don't give up on this one. It will be worth the time and effort!

      Delete
  5. You're not the last person to read this one because I haven't either. I like books that stick with me long after reading so I ought to like this one.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think it would be hard not to like it, but I'm sure someone somewhere doesn't :) Hope you get to it soon!

      Delete

Love it when you comment!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Copyright © melissa of One Librarian's Book Reviews 2008-2015