Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Book Review: Abby Carnelia's One and Only Magical Power by David Pogue

Posted as part of Tween Tuesday, hosted by GreenBeanTeenQueen.

Abby Carnelia's One and Only Magical Power by David Pogue
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication date: April 2010
ISBN: 9781596433847
Source: ARC sent by publisher

Abby Carnelia's One and Only Magical Power 

When Abby Carnelia discovers she has a unique and very strange magical power - she can make an egg spin by pulling on her earlobes - she is obviously surprised.  She decides to attend a summer camp for aspiring magicians and there meets other kids who might just have similarly silly magical abilities.  But, when she is invited to attend a special camp just for special kids, she gets more than she expected.  Can she figure out just what the special camp is about before it's too late?

Things I Liked:
This book was a lot of fun to read.  Abby was a regular girl, until she discovers her power.  But, she still felt very much like your average tween looking to figure stuff out.  The magical aspect of the book will appeal to fans of Savvy and The Girl Who Could Fly and the humor and fun will appeal to everyone else.  A sweet and silly book that will have kids wishing they could figure out what their odd power is.

Things I Didn't Like:
I have to admit, the book seemed pretty forgettable (despite its silly premise) and it certainly lacked the personality and spunk of the two books mentioned above, possibly because of the adult narrator aspect.  It also was a bit predictable in the story, as I was quite sure of a few things almost from the start.  Still, it will make for a fun fantasy read for younger tweens.

Savvy by Ingrid Law

The Girl Who Could Fly by Victoria Forester

s-factor: none

mrg-factor: none

v-factor: none

Overall rating: ***

What kind of odd power would you want to have?

If you buy through my Amazon linkage, I will get a very small percentage


  1. I have both Savvy and The Girl Who Could Fly on my TBR list so I'll just stick to those two.


Love it when you comment!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Copyright © melissa of One Librarian's Book Reviews 2008-2015