--------------------------------------------------------------

Thursday, December 10, 2015

Book Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication date: May 2014
Pages: 240
Source: e-book from library
For: Fun

Summary (from goodreads):
A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.
Things I Liked:
It is very readable, I pretty much pounded through this fast.  I was sucked into the story and completely compelled to read and find out just what happened to make Cady so changed.  I loved hearing about the summers with her cousins - it reminds me of my own family.  But I also loved seeing the depths and watching them start to grow up and see the world a little more realistically (if obviously not completely).  An interesting and intriguing look at a privileged family.

Things I Didn't Like:
I was annoyed that the Liars title never really seemed to make any sense. Also, I found that I was not too surprised at the ending, despite having been told and expecting some serious gasping and stuff at the end. I don't know. I guess I just found it sad. So much wasted in these youth!

Read-alikes:
Hm, can't think of anything

BOOK CONTENT RATINGS:
s-factor: !@#$
not tons in number, but like 10 f-bombs

mrg-factor: none
some kissing

v-factor: ->
a bit of intense action

Overall rating: ****

If you buy through my Amazon linkage, I will get a very small percentage

4 comments :

  1. This book depressed me to death! It was readable though, I'll give you that.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes! So super sad while I was reading it.

      Delete
  2. I thought this one was ok, but agreed that the title never made sense to me. The big shocking ending, mostly felt so dumb. Maybe I think too highly of teens, but...did they really, seriously, not have ANY idea what might happen? Way too much hype for this one.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I completely agree - they really didn't think it through at all!

      Delete

Love it when you comment!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Copyright © melissa of One Librarian's Book Reviews 2008-2015