--------------------------------------------------------------

Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Book Review: Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi

Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication date: January 2013
Pages: 352
Source: Library
For: Fun
Series: Under the Never Sky, Book 2

Summary from goodreads: *Spoilers are inevitable for the first book*
It's been months since Aria learned of her mother's death.

Months since Perry became Blood Lord of the Tides, and months since Aria last saw him.

Now Aria and Perry are about to be reunited. It's a moment they've been longing for with countless expectations. And it's a moment that lives up to all of them. At least, at first. Then it slips away. The Tides don't take kindly to former Dwellers like Aria. And the tribe is swirling out of Perry's control. With the Aether storms worsening every day, the only remaining hope for peace and safety is the Still Blue. But does this haven truly exist?

Threatened by false friends and powerful temptations, Aria and Perry wonder, Can their love survive through the ever night? In this second book in her spellbinding Under the Never Sky trilogy, Veronica Rossi combines fantasy and sci-fi elements to create a captivating adventure-and a love story as perilous as it is unforgettable.

Things I Liked:
I really enjoy this series.  It feels unique, though it has a lot of elements that are familiar in dystopian books.  The characters make really hard choices and they stick with the consequences of those choices.  I like Aria and how she's developed since the first book.  In some ways, she keeps the dweller attitudes and things she's believed all her life, but in many others she's completely changed.  I loved the story and following Perry and Aria and especially Roar in their travels.  Things just seem to get really crazy near the end and I am excited to know where they will end up next.  A fun, action-packed, and enthralling dystopian story.

Things I Didn't Like:
Not much I can think of.  I think I just enjoyed this one a lot!

Read-alikes:
Reminds me of the Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld
Matched series by Ally Condie

BOOK CONTENT RATINGS:
s-factor: !
a handful

mrg-factor: X 
you know, it's been a while, but I seem to recall a scene or two...

v-factor: ->-> 
there's quite a bit of fighting and gore

Overall rating: *****

If you buy through my Amazon linkage, I will get a very small percentage

6 comments :

  1. I really enjoyed getting to know Roar better this go around, though his story is DANG sad! Love these books.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ugh, I know. I cry just thinking about him. But so excited for more of him anyway :)

      Delete
  2. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I ADORE this series :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I seem to recall you raving about this one. I'll be interested to see what you think of the next one.

      Delete
  3. I really enjoyed this one, too! Roar's definitely one of my favorite side characters. I can't wait to see how it turns out, but I'm kind of hoping for someone to come back from the dead. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Aren't we all? :) Super excited for the end of this series. Kinda wish it got more attention!

      Delete

Love it when you comment!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Copyright © melissa of One Librarian's Book Reviews 2008-2013